Bitcoin ATM Network Coinsource Enters DC Metropolitan Area

Announcements, News | April 13, 2018 By:

Bitcoin ATM network Coinsource will be expanding into the Washington, DC metropolitan area, where it will install 20 bitcoin machines.

Coinsource is aiming to become the largest bitcoin ATM operating network in the DC metropolitan area. The 20 bitcoin ATMs will be installed across the District of Columbia and Maryland, 12 in Washington DC, 5 in Baltimore, 1 in Towson, 1 in Oxon Hill, and 1 in Takoma Park. Washington currently has five bitcoin machines being serviced by five different operators.

Sheffield Clark, CEO of Coinsource, said that they are meeting Washington DC at an inflection point, where regulators are looking at the value and potential of decentralized currencies and blockchain technology.

“All innovation over time has passed through our nation’s capital in one way or another, and we are happy to be servicing Washington, DC and the surrounding communities so that they can have easy access to buying and selling bitcoin,” said Clark.

This installation caps off a successful first quarter for Coinsource after launching 10 machines in Rhode Island, New Hampshire, and Massachusetts last month. Additionally, Coinsource introduced eight new machines in Denver, Colorado last week.

Bobby Sharp, CMO of Coinsource, said they are expanding the bitcoin ATM market farther than it’s ever been in DC. He said this deployment is especially significant to Coinsource, as the philosophy behind decentralized currency is and has always been about giving freedom back to the people.

“As a company I feel that we have been able to provide financial freedom to the under-banked and un-banked, and I am happy to bring our services to DC,” said Sharp.

Coinsource now services 164 million residents across the country and currently has 182 machines 18 states and districts: California, Oklahoma, Nevada, Texas, Louisiana, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Arizona, Georgia, Rhode Island, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Colorado, Maryland, Delaware and the District of Columbia.