US Exchange Coinbase Taps Asiff Hirji as President/COO

Job Appointments | December 4, 2017 By:

Coinbase, the largest US cryptocurrency exchange, has appointed Asiff Hirji as President and Chief Operation Officer (COO).

Hirji has served as a Partner of TPG Capital, a global private investment firm. From October 2006 to April 2007, he served as the President of TD Ameritrade Holding Company, a publicly traded provider of securities brokerage services. He has also held senior leadership and governance roles at Saxo Bank, Hewlett Packard and Bain Capital. Hirji will replace Coinbase co-founder Fred Ehrsam, who served as president of the company until January.

Brian Armstrong, CEO and Co-founder of Coinbase, said that Hirji’s mix of technical skill, business knowledge and corporate growth experience is truly unique, and exactly what Coinbase needs as they solidify their position as the leading digital currency company. He added that Hirji’s experience will be invaluable as interest from large financial institutions continues to increase and as the company expand into new markets and products such as Coinbase Custody.

“Coinbase is moving into an exciting phase of our journey. Asiff’s knowledge of traditional financial services, as well as his deep technical expertise, makes him the perfect person to guide our operations as we grow into new markets and products,” said Armstrong.

“Coinbase is uniquely positioned like no other company to capitalize on the burgeoning crypto-economy, said Hirji. “Its breadth of offerings, global footprint and unique capabilities mean that it will continue to be the first place that retail and institutional investors look when they invest in cryptocurrencies. I’m very excited to be a part of the company and look forward to helping realize its full potential.”

Hirji’s appointment came after a US federal judge in San Francisco ruled that Coinbase must give the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) records on users who had more than $20,000 in annual transactions on the platform between 2013 and 2015.