Crypto Regulators Directory Published By Financial Stability Board

News, Regulation | April 9, 2019 By:

The Financial Stability Board (FSB), an international body that monitors the global financial system, has published a directory of crypto-asset regulators.

The directory, which will be delivered to the G20 meeting on April 11-12, provides information on the relevant regulators and other authorities in FSB jurisdictions and international bodies who are dealing with crypto-asset issues, and the aspects covered by them.

The directory includes regulators in various FSB jurisdictions, such as Australia, China, India, Japan, Korea, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, the United States, and the European Union, along with international bodies, including the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision (BCBS), the Committee on Payments and Market Infrastructures (CPMI), the Financial Action Task Force (FATF), the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO), the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), and the World Bank.

The FSB said that the publication of the directory is part of its ongoing work on crypto-assets, including efforts to monitor for possible systemic risks using a framework developed by the FSB and the Committee on Payments and Market Infrastructures (CPMI).

In October 2018, the FSB released a report, Crypto-asset markets: Potential channels for future financial stability implications, which concluded that crypto-assets do not pose a material risk to global financial stability at this time. However, vigilant monitoring is needed in light of the speed of market developments.