Ethereum Group Sets Committees

Announcements, Blockchain, Group | July 17, 2017 By:

The Enterprise Ethereum Alliance (EEA), a consortium focused on ethereum-based blockchain technology, has established a Technical Steering Committee that will focus on the EntEth1.0 reference architecture. Along with the Technical Steering Committee are seven member-driven working groups, each one headed by blockchain or business thought-leaders.

Formed earlier this year, EEA is seeking to evolve ethereum so that it can serve as an enterprise-grade technology. EEA is also investigating hybrid architectures that span both permissioned and public ethereum networks, as well as industry specific application layer working groups. The alliance plans to integrate a version of ethereum called Quorum that JPMorgan Chase has been testing for international transfers and privacy features.

The working groups will advance the development of use-cases for blockchain technology on the ethereum platform in specific areas, including token issuances, banking, healthcare, insurance, advertising, legal, and supply chain finance.

The Technical Steering Committee will guide the working groups by generating technical specifications and code, reviewing and approving deliverables from various working groups to be presented to the Board of Directors, and cooperating with other committees in identifying the scope and scale of EEA’s continued efforts. The Technical Steering Committee will mainly filter client codebase specifications compatible with Quorum, pyethapp, STRATO, Nuco, Burrow, and others, instead of applying changes to applications built on those clients.

The EEA Technical Steering Committee, Working Groups, and Chairs:

  • Technical Steering Committee, Chair: Alex Batlin, BNY Mellon
  • Token Working Group, Chair: Alex Batlin, BNY Mellon
  • Banking Working Group, Chair: Amber Baldet, J.P. Morgan
  • Healthcare Working Group, Chair: Fabian Wahl, Merck KGaA
  • Insurance Working Group, Chairs: Stephan Karpischek and Christoph Mussenbrock, Etherisc Inc.
  • Advertising Industry Working Group, Chair: Mike Goldin, MetaX / ConsenSys
  • Legal Industry Working Group, Chair: Aaron Wright, Associate Clinical Professor of Law at Cardozo Law School and Director of Cardozo’s Blockchain Project
  • Supply Chain Working Group, Chair: Tyler Mulvihill, Authentick / ConsenSys

“The EEA has made the largest commitment to member-driven working groups in the industry focusing on innovative blockchain technologies and applications to solve real-world problems,” said Jeremy Millar, founding board member, EEA. “Many of the blockchain industry’s best and brightest have agreed to contribute their leadership and energy as a chair for an EEA work group. We thank them and all the working group members for their support and efforts.”